A series of four books by British young adult fantasy author Diana Wynne Jones, best known for Howl’s Moving Castle and Chrestomanci. The Dalemark Quartet. The Dalemark Quartet [Diana Wynne Jones] on *FREE* shipping on qualifying offers. For centuries, Dalemark has been a land divided by the. The Crown of Dalemark (Dalemark Quartet) [Diana Wynne Jones] on Amazon. com. *FREE* shipping on qualifying offers. Mitt has fled from the South, but finds .

Author: Mular Zunris
Country: Cambodia
Language: English (Spanish)
Genre: Technology
Published (Last): 13 October 2004
Pages: 247
PDF File Size: 8.99 Mb
ePub File Size: 15.15 Mb
ISBN: 127-2-84998-491-6
Downloads: 35041
Price: Free* [*Free Regsitration Required]
Uploader: Kazrashicage

I still enjoyed reading it now, but I think it would have been one of my favorite books if I had read it at a younger age. The Spellcoats Quartft first, this story seems to have little relationship to the two before it.

Apr 24, Terry rated it liked it Shelves: Moril and his brother and sister, driven both by suspicions that their mother’s new beau had something to do with the murder, and a lack of enthusiasm for qjartet bourgeois lifestyle, take the cart and strike out on their own, agreeing to take the young man who had been their family’s passenger to his destination in the North.

Jan 09, Clare rated it it was amazing Shelves: Each book has a different protagonistalthough all of the characters appear in the final volume, The Crown of Dalemark.

She is supposed to find the ring, the cup, and the sword of the true king which dalemaark lead to an uprising that eventually will unite the north and south. The rest of the story tells what she overcomes to find the three artifacts and eventually get back to her own time.


The Spellcoats I realized too late that this one should be read first – it deals with happenings in prehistoric Dalemark, well before the times of the previous two books.

The Dalemark Quartet Series

Pam Winkler rated it really liked it Mar 31, It differs from Wynne Jones’s usual fare, in that it is a quite serious fantasy epic, whereas many of her works, such as The Tough Guide to Fantasylandare satirical. I’ve read this before, but it has been quite a while, and as I recall it’s not a real fast read maybe because the book dalemaro heavy! Jones started writing during the mids “mostly to keep my sanity”, when the youngest of her three children was about two years old daelmark the family lived in a house owned by an Oxford college.

Not at all unrealistic; just appalling. There is no other option, guys. I really wish I had read this short novel as a kid. In South Dalemark, after their landlord conspires to throw his family off their farm, a boy named Mitt must struggle to fit into town life, as his mother works hard but uses her money spendthrift-ly and his father gets involved in an illegal revolutionary movement.

The Dalemark Quartet

The story would refer to the Undying and then only later explain how that related to the storyline. The Dalemark Quartet The palace contains a lot of portraits and artifacts from olden days.

Now, with the help of the Undying, the mysterious gods of Dalemark, four extraordinary young peoplefrom the past, present and futurewill help shape the destiny of their land. The Crown of Dalemarkbook four in the series He is told that Ynen will be killed unless Mitt agrees to kill a girl called Noreth, who is looking for the crown of Dalemark to unite the north and south.


Many of her earlier children’s books were out of print in recent years, but have now been re-issued for the young audience whose interest in fantasy and reading was spurred by Harry Potter.

These four novels collected in this SFBC omnibus create a fascinating daleamrk full of living myths and unexpected magic. I think I finished that one the same day I picked it up. There is no excuse for Maewen to NOT be the undying. The King’s Raven rated it it was amazing Feb 13, Open Preview See a Problem?

The Dalemark Quartet (Literature) – TV Tropes

This book contains four stories. This book this book which is technically four books in daoemark is my favorite book. According to her autobiography, Jones decided she was an atheist when she was a child. This book is actually as set of four inter-related stories, the first three seem to have totally unrelated characters with a somewhat quaret setting, but the fourth book brings them together with a satisfactory ending.

Children and Young Adult Literature portal. After a brief period in London, in the couple returned to Oxford, where they stayed until moving to Bristol in Tolkien before graduating in